Broccoli Slaw Muffins

Dinosaur Broccoli Slaw Muffins

Like most two year olds, my son will eat his way around just about any vegetable I put in front of him. Well, not this time! While shopping at Trader Joe’s I spied a bag of broccoli slaw and I had an epiphany – why not take that nutritious broccoli slaw and put it into a muffin? And that is just what I did! As always, my muffins are full of lots of wholesome goodness and best of all my little guy thinks he is getting a treat! You can use 1 1/2 cups of flour instead of my oat bran, whole wheat, flax combo.

Ingredients:
1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 c ground flax
1/2 c oat bran
1/2 c brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 c oil
1/4 c apple sauce
1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 c broccoli slaw, chopped fine in a food processor
1 1/2 c carrots, chopped fine in a food processor
1/2 c raisins
1/2 c nuts

Preheat oven to 375.

Mix dry ingredients.
Mix wet ingredients.
Combine wet and dry and add veggies, nuts and fruit. Stir well.

Scoop into muffin tins. Bake 15 – 20 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack.

Makes about 16 – 20 muffins.

Look at all the veggie goodness

Leave a comment