Skip to content
August 18, 2013 / Chris Blum

Squash Blossom Pizza with Ricotta

20130818-061557.jpg

The early bird gets the squash blossoms! And this week I got most of them since I bought three bags, which means I would have plenty for another pizza!! This time I used truffle oil as a base, topped with a little mozzarella and a bit of ricotta on top – theirs flavors really allowed the blossoms to shine through. I’ve also perfected my technique on removing the stamen so I don’t have spend all afternoon prepping. Simple make a small snip at the base of the blossom and pull – voila stamen and stem free (pics at the bottom).

Ingredients:
1 ball of pizza dough
Truffle or olive oil
20 squash blossoms, stamen and stem removed
4 oz mozzarella, grated
Ricotta

Preheat oven to 500 with pizza stone or baking steel inside (the steel is my fav).

Roll out dough, brush with oil, sprinkle mozzarella, layout blossoms, sprinkle with a tiny bit of mozzarella.

Bake 8 – 12 minutes. Slice, place a little ricotta on each slice and drizzle with tiny amount of truffle oil.

Serves 4.

20130818-061540.jpg

Leave a Reply

