Skip to content
July 17, 2013 / Chris Blum

Eggplant Fries

20130717-073606.jpg

I love salt and pepper eggplant – but there are so many calories in fried food I just can’t bring myself to make it. Instead I came up with a healthier version baked in the oven – crispy on the outside soft on the inside and most important yummy in my tummy! I dipped them in ponzu.

Ingredients:
3 small eggplants
Flour
2 eggs
Panko
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425. Place a wire rack on a baking sheet.

Cut eggplant into 1 inch fries, you can peel them if you like, I like the skin so I leave it on.

In a shallow bowl put a couple scoops of flour, salt and pepper. In another bowl beat the eggs and a splash of water, about 1/4 c. Pour the panko in a third bowl.

Coat eggplant in flour, dip in egg and roll in panko then place on wire rack. Spray eggplant pieces with a little olive oil.

Bake for 18 – 22 minute until crispy on the outside.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

