Roasted Broccoli with Garlic and Jalapeño

20120302-202213.jpg

The inspiration for this dish comes from my trip to Austin where I was lucky enough to have dinner at Lambert’s with my pals Bill & Amanda. We had an amazing meal, this is my attempt at the amazing broccoli garlic jalapeño dish we had. I love garlic and jalapeños so used a lot!!

2 heads of broccoli
2 tsp olive oil
8 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
4 mild red chillies/jalepenos, thinly sliced
coarse sea salt
black pepper

Preheat oven to 450.

Separate the brocolli into florets and blanch in boiling water. Remove immediately to a bowl of ice water, then drain and leave to dry completely.

Once the broccoli is dry, toss with garlic, jalapeños, 2 tsp of the olive oil and a generous amount of salt and pepper. Roast for about 15 minutes, tossing several times until nicely charred.

Ginger Leap

20120302-190816.jpg

Friday night = cocktail night at the Barn!! Tonight I winged it to come up with a citrusy ginger bourbon cocktail – I’m calling the Ginger Leap in honor of yesterday being leap year.

Ingredients:
4 oz grapefruit juice
3 oz bourbon
1 oz domain de canton, ginger liqueur

Pour in cocktail shakes, add ice, shake & pour into 2 glasses!